Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.
Logo of The Mercer Cluster
Monday, Mar 4, 2024
Interested in Working for the Cluster? Ask about joining our Discord!

Moody Musings: Why we should all pay attention to love languages

Graphic designed by Claire Hammond
Graphic designed by Claire Hammond

In this season of love, I think we get so caught up with the commercialization of Valentine’s Day that we truly forget how to love one another and ourselves.

Valentine’s Day convinces us that in order to truly show our appreciation, we have to purchase candy, flowers and something stuffed. The holiday, which feels a little more stressful every year, can be celebrated completely and more accurately if we know how to love the people in our lives the way they want to be loved.

About a year ago, I stumbled across the “Love Language Test” and the five love languages. The languages include: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time and Physical Touch.

I took the quiz and immediately made everyone in my life do the same. The quiz consists of a series of questions that will provide users with a “love language profile, your primary love language, what it means and how you can use it connect to others,” according to the website.

The quiz also allows users to check off whether they are in a relationship or not before they answer any questions. When you learn how your significant other, family member or friends prefer to receive love, you can love them better.

If someone’s primary love language is Acts of Service, buying them a teddy bear for Valentine’s Day may not necessarily be the gift that they will truly appreciate. Tell them that you’re committing to help them complete items on their to-do list, cleaning, cooking or just being a resource for them when they need it most.

I know how much I love to provide words of affirmation to the people I love, so when I found out that there were people in my life who preferred them, I was eager to love them in that way.

I made it a task of mine to send them morning encouragement, write them letters and thank you cards and to consistently remind them how much they mean to me.

The beauty of the quiz is that it works both ways. Love Languages can help us better love ourselves and practice self-care.

If your love language is quality time, treat yourself to meditation a couple of times a week. Commit some time to your hobbies and taking yourself on solo dates. This will leave you fulfilled after your “me time.”

Before you finish your Valentine’s Day celebrations, take the love language quiz and encourage the people in your life to do the same. Learn more about their love profiles, and give them what you think they would really love this holiday.

If you want to learn more about the language and take the quiz, visit


Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2024 The Mercer Cluster, Mercer University